top of page

Polikarpov I-153

Static Restoration (on hold)

The Polikarpov I-153 is a single seat fighter biplane that first flew among the Soviet air forces (VVS) in 1939. It was nicknamed "Tchaïka" (Чайка : Seagull) due to its gulled upper wing. Powered with a 1000 hp Chvetsov M-62 engine, the I-153 was armed with 4 7.62mm ShKAS machine guns installed in the fuselage. Its landing gear was classic, with a retractable main gear. Some aircrafts were also fitted with a ski landing gear. More than 3300 aircrafts were built during WW2.

Ancre 1

Polikarpov I-153 #7277

This Polikarpov I-153 has belonged to the French Musée de l'Air since the early 1950's. The museum now has offered Memorial Flight the opportunity to restore this unique aeroplane.

 

Any restoration needs a long and thorough investigation work. It was quickly found that this aircraft is, as a matter of fact, a composite assembly made from several I-153s. The serial number that was most found on the fuselage is 7277, but the rudder bears the number 7396. The fabric and the painting were also closely studied, as well as fuselage parts, cowls, etc.

 

Memorial Flight has been in touch with Russian historians. They found that I-153 #7277 was built in Moscow and delivered to the VVS with Chvetsov M-62 #1474 engine on January 1940 24th. It was part of 238 IAP and based in Lithuania when captured in 1941. Reassembled by the germans, using any parts available, it was then partially covered with new fabric and probably repainted with fake VVS markings. This I-153 was very likely static displayed in Luftwaffe technical parks (Beutepark), and travelling from parks to parks ended up in Beutepark d.Lw.5, and displayed amont its little museum. This park was located in Nanterre, near Paris, and was liberated in 1944. It was on display along many other allied aircrafts (mainly coming from the westen front, but it was also displayed next to a MiG-3).

How and why this aircraft survived is still mystery. Several stories have been told, and there is a rumor saying that, once liberated, some C.G.T. (a French trade union center, that supported USSR and communist ideology) delegates among the workers supported safeguardind this aircraft because of the red stars it bore. However this does not explain why the MiG-3 knew a different fate and was likely destroyed... The only certainty is that this I-153 arrived among the Musée de l'Air's collection and was displayed at Chalais-Meudon in the early 1950s.

What happened between 1944 and 1950 remains unclear so far...

A colourful history

The Musée de l'Air Polikarpov I-153 has always been displayed to the public with an approximative paint scheme : olive green fuselage and top surfaces with blue lower surfaces. The tail bore a red "9" painted on the rudder.

Memorial Flight's investigation started by slowly stripping the paint, layer by layer on several parts. It was quickly found that the aircraft's original paint scheme was aluminum doped fabric and (grey paint on metallic parts), typical for that aircraft at the very beginning of the war. Russian historians helped us doing extensive researches and providing unknown details about the aircraft's operational history, completing the findings made by studying the aircraft itself. Here are the different colours applied to the I-153 #7277 :

  • Aluminum doped fabric and grey paint on metal parts. This was the original colours sported by this I-153 when delivered on January 24th 1940. The airplane likely saw action during the Winter War between USSR and Finland which took place between November 30th 1939 and March 13th 1940.

    • On August 20th 1940, this aircraft was part of the 15 IAP fleet. This fighter regiment was based in Lithuania, as parf of the 8th SAD (mixed aviation division), attached to the Baltic military district.

    • On January 1st 1941, most of 15 IAP aircrafts were transferred to 236 and 238 IAP. #7277 was thus transferred to 238 IAP (6th SAD, Baltic military district), based in Panevezys [Ponovezh], Lithuania. This airfield being taken on June 26th 1941, #7277 (likely out of order) was captured along many other aircrafts. At this time, a large "21" number was painted on the vertical stabilizer and tail, below a red stripe (underlined with a black line). It seems the aircraft was already disassembled, and only its fuselage (as well as some cowls, but without its rudder) survived.

  • Green RLM​ 62 paint. After being captured, #7277 was "re-assembled" by the Germans replacing the missing parts with other I-153 elements (as confirmed by the numerous part numerous different part numbers found). The fabric, which was largely tore off, was "repaired" stitching a new fabric over it. Those repairs are easily recognizable as a  German typical red dope was used to tighten the new fabric parts. Once "repaired", the aircraft was painted RLM62 green, except for lower sufaces that were painted blue. This seems rather like a strange choice, as many parts still had the original paint scheme prior to this repaint. Did the staff that took care of those repairs lacked aluminum paint / dope, or were they ordered to give it new look ? However, it should be noted that the "newly installed" rudder, which came from a different airframe, bore an original VVS green paint, with a "9"identification number painted on it (outlined in white).

  • "Musée de l'Air" green colour. When displayed in the 1950s by the Musée de l'Air in Chalais-Meudon, a square piece of the fabric was missing on the left side of the fuselage, where the red star was painted. The museum then repaired the aircraft,  patching up a piece of fabric, once more, between 1954 and 1962. This may be when the aircraft got its last coat of paint (still green with blue lower surfaces). This is the paint scheme that had been seen by the public until the aircraft arrived in Memorial Flight workshop in 2011.

A detailed article was written and published in the French Fana de l'Aviation magazine in June 2011 (issue #499). It explains the study and research done, and shows many photos of the process.

The Restoration

Photoscope

Photoscope

Polikarpov I-153 cockpit, prior to restoration.

Though the cockpit is not 100% complete, very few parts or instruments are missing.

The central panel of the dashboard looks white because of the missing black bezel which covers it. This bezel is meant to hide the dashboard lights.

Note the blue pressured air bottle which bears the Luftwaffe inspection stamp made in January 13th 1942 "UNBRAUCHBAR 13.1.42", meaning that this bottle was unusable.

Photoscope

Lower left wing prior to restoration.

This wing (as well as the others) did not originally belong to #7277 airframe. It was likely mounted on this aircraft after it was captured by the Germans.

The serial number 6515 was painted on the wing root This wing also has a manufacturer plate indicated it was checked out on August 28th 1939.

Pieces of history

Identification

The Musée de l'Air Polikarpov I-153 is a mix of several aircrafs. Thus, Memorial Flight investigated to find out the fuselage identification.

The serial number found on many different locations of the fuselage, either painted or stamped is  7277. This is how the Musée de l'Air aircraft finally got identified.

Polikarpov I-153

Restauration Statique (en pause)

Le Polikarpov I-153 est un biplan monoplace de la chasse soviétique qui lui a été livré en 1939. Son surnom "Tchaïka" (Чайка : mouette) lui vient de la forme de son aile supérieure en mouette. Il était équipé du moteur Chvetsov M-62 de 1 000cv et armé de 4 mitrailleuses de 7,62mm ShKAS montées dans le fuselage. Son train d'atterrissage était classique, avec le train principal escamotable il pouvait être équipé de skis. Sa production totale représente plus de 3300 avions.

 

Polikarpov I-153 n° 7277

Depuis le début de années 1950 cet exemplaire du Polikarpov I-153 appartient au Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace du Bourget. Sa restauration a été confiée aux soins de l'association Memorial Flight.

 

Toute restauration a pour préliminaire un long travail d'investigation. Rapidement, il est devenu évident que cet avion est un assemblage d'éléments provenant de plusieurs I-153. Le numéro de série majoritairement trouvé sur le fuselage est le 7727, bien que la gouverne de direction porte le numéro de série 7396. La peinture et la toile de divers éléments ont été examinées sur le fuselage, la dérive, les capots, les ailes, etc.

 

Memorial Flight est égalemet entré en contact avec des historiens russes. D'après leurs recherches, le Polikarpov I-153 n° 7277 fut construit à Moscou et équipé du moteur Chvetsov M-62 n° 1474, lorsqu'il fut remis aux forces aériennes soviétiques le 24 janvier 1940. Il était basé en Lituanie où il a été capturé en 1941, alors qu'il appartenait au 238 IAP. Ré-assemblé avec des pièces disponibles par les allemands, partiellement ré-entoilé et vraisemblablement peint avec un camouflage soviétique factice, l'appareil fut probablement exposé dans des parcs techniques de la Luftwaffe (Beutepark). Puis, de parc en parc, il est arrivé au musée technique du Beutepark d.Lw.5 de Nanterre qui fut libéré en 1944. L'appareil y était exposé aux côtés de plusieurs appareils alliés (majoritairement provenant du front de l'ouest, mais avec tout de même un Mig-3 soviétique).

La survie de cet appareil parmi tout les autres est sujet à débat. Plusieurs rumeurs ont été émises notamment l'une indiquant que le personnel de la C.G.T. qui repris possession des locaux à Nanterre a soutenu la sauvegarde de cet appareil portant l'étoile rouge. Cela ne permet pas d'expliquer pourquoi le Mig-3 n'a, lui, pas survécu... La seule chose certaine est l'arrivée du I-153 au Musée de l'Air à Chalais-Meudon au tout début des années 1950.

Que s'est-il passé entre 1944 et 1950 ? La question reste posée...

Tout en couleurs

Le Polikarpov I-153 du Musée de l'Air a toujours été connu par ses visiteurs avec ses couleurs soviétiques approximatives : sa teinte vert olive (et bleu sur l'intrados et le dessous du fuselage) et son numéro 9 rouge peint sur la gouverne de direction.

Les recherches de Memorial Flight, en décapants progressivement plusieurs morceaux du fuselage ont permis de découvrir qu'à l'origine cet appareil portait une teinte Aluminium/gris typique au début du conflit (et donc très éloignée du vert qu'on lui connaissant pourtant). Avec les recherches d'historiens russes et les éléments trouvés sur l'avion, voici les différentes phases de peinture que le fuselage de l'avion n° 7277 a connu :

  • Teinte Aluminium (enduit pigmenté aluminium sur les parties entoilées) et gris sur les parties métalliques. Il s'agissait de la couleur avec laquelle ce I-153 fut livré le 24 janvier 1940. L'appareil a probablement été utilisé pendant la guerre d''hiver qui opposait l'URSS à la Finlande du 30 novembre 1939 au 13 mars 1940.

    • Le 20 août ​1940, il figurait dans les effectifs du 15 IAP, régiment aérien de chasse basé en Lituanie, faisant partie de la 8e SAD (Division aérienne mixte), rattachée au District militaire de la Baltique.

    • Le 1er juin 1941, cette unité reversa la majorité de ses I-153 aux 236 et 238 IAP. Le n° 7277 fut alors transféré au 238 IAP (6e SAD, District militaire de la Baltique), basé sur le terrain de Panevezys [Ponovezh], en Lituanie. Cet aérodrome fut pris le 26 juin 1941, et le 7277 (probablement hors d'usage) fut capturé avec plusieurs de ses homologues. Il portait alors un numéro 21 de grande dimension peint sur la dérive, surmonté d'une bande rouge (soulignée de noire). Il semble que l'appareil était démonté et seul son fuselage  (avec quelques capots et sans gouverne de direction) est arrivé jusqu'à nous.

  • Teinte verte RLM​ 62. L'appareil capturé fut "ré-assemblé" par les allemands en utilisant de nombreuses pièces provenant de divers I-153 (au vu des nombreux numéros trouvés) et la toile dont de grands éléments manquaient fut rapiécée (conservant des morceaux originaux). Ces réparations sont reconnaissables à l'enduit de tension rouge utilisé par les allemands. Une fois “réparé”, l’avion fut entièrement peint uniformément en vert RLM 62, à l’exception des surfaces inférieures. Étrange, car l’avion possédait de grands pans de son revêtement d’origine. Les réparateurs n’avaient-ils pas en leur possession immédiate de peinture aluminium, ou bien n’avaient-ils pour mission que de maquiller l’appareil pour lui donner l’aspect du neuf ? Toutefois, il faut noter que le gouvernail, provenant d'un autre avion, était vert (camouflage soviétique d'origine), et portait le numéro d’identification 9 (contours peint en blancs, l'intérieur du numéro laissant apparaître la teinte verte).

  • Teinte verte "musée". Exposé au début des années 1950 au Musée de l'Air à Chalais-Meudon, le I-153 montre un morceau de l'étoile rouge découpée sur le flanc gauche du fuselage. Le musée a réparé l'avion en rapiéçant une fois de plus la toile entre 1954 et 1962. C'est peut-être à cette occasion qu'il reçu sa couleur définitive verte et bleue sur le dessous, que les visiteurs ont pu voir jusqu'à son arrivée dans l'atelier de Memorial Flight en 2011.

Un article rédigé par Memorial Flight et paru dans le Fana de l'Aviation n°499 de juin 2011 détaille les différentes recherches, illustrées par de nombreuses photos.

La restauration

Photoscope

Photoscope

Cockpit du Polikarpov I-153 avant la restauration.

Bien que le cockpit ne soit pas tout à fait complet, il manque peu d'éléments.

Le panneau central apparait blanc, car il manque un cache noir qui le recouvre normalement intégralement. Ce cache servait à dissimuler l'éclairage du tableau de bord.

A noter, la bouteille bleue d'air comprimé d'origine, qui a été vérifiée le 13 janvier 1942 par les ateliers de la Luftwaffe comme le montre l'inscription allemande "UNBRAUCHBAR 13.1.42", signifiant qu'elle est inutilisable.

Photoscope

Aile inférieure gauche avant restauration.

Cette aile (comme toutes les autres) n'est pas celle originellement associée avec le fuselage 7277. Elle a vraisemblablement été montée sur l'appareil après la capture par les allemands.

Elle porte le numéro 6515 (peint à l'emplanture), et porte une plaque de production du 28 août 1939.

Morceaux d'histoire

Identification

Le Polikarpov I-153 du Musée de l'Air est un assemblage de plusieurs appareils, et Memorial Flight a souhaité identifier le fuselage.

Le numéro trouvé le plus souvent sur ce fuselage, gravé et peint à plusieurs endroits, est le 7277. Il a permis de donner une identité à l'appareil du Musée de l'Air.

Capture

L'appareil n° 7277 fut capturé sur le terrain de Panevezys [Ponovezh], en Lituanie, avec d'autres I-153.

Il fut ensuite convoyé par les allemands en train (destination inconnue) et une photo a été retrouvée montrant le fuselage sur un wagon. Nous n'avons qu'une image basse définition de cette photo, mais le numéro "IV" en chiffre romains retrouvés peint en jaune à main levé sur la dérive du I-153, ainsi que le "2" du numéro 21 de son unité peint au même endroit ne laissent pas de place au doute. Il s'agit du même avion.

La première photo ci-contre montre l'avion sur le wagon. La seconde photo est un autre I-153 de la même unité portant le numéro 25 aux mains des allemands lors de la capture du terrain. Enfin la troisième photo montre la dérive décapée par Memorial Flight présentant les caractéristiques vues sur la première photo.

Spécifications

Longueur : 10 m

Envergure : 6.18 m

Masse maximale : 1 859 kg

Moteur : Chvetsov M-62 de 1 000 hp

Vitesse maximale : 426 km/h

Rayon d'action : 470 km

Equipage : 1

Armement : 4 mitrailleuses ShKAS de 7.62 mm (2 500 coups)