top of page

SPAD XIII C.1

Airworthy Reproduction

In spite of a very successful prewar business, thanks to its chief designer Louis Béchereau, the SPAD (Société Pour les Avions Déperdussin) company went bankrupt after serious financial problems.

 

The company was taken over by Louis Blériot in 1914. The new owner, feeling that he should take advantage of SPAD reputation, managed to twist the new company name into: Société Pour l'Aviation et ses Dérivés, thus retaining the original SPAD initials.

 

The SPAD design was not particularly innovative compared to aeroplanes such as the Fokker D.VII. Its sturdiness was due to a well-engineered wooden fusleage although this was at the expense of an increase in weight. The design was aerodynamically sound, with its rounded fuselage and high aspect ratio wings, and it was propelled by the rather temperamental 220 HP Hispano-Suiza geared engine. Its main asset was a very good climbing performance, far superior to its British and German counter parts but it did not handle as well as pilots expected.

 

As a matter of fact the SPAD was certainly no easy aircraft, especially in the low speed range where its thin airfoil section often resulted in brutal stalls. On the other hand it could withstand the stress of dives above 280 MPH followed by steep climbs. The aircraft was at ease in vertical manoeuvres rather than tight turns and it gained superiority over the enemy until the arrival of the Fokker D.VII. On top of this the SPAD was a very stable firing platform and could take its share of punishment without too many problems.

The one-piece twin-spar upper wing has no dihedral, while the lower is built in two parts and also has no dihedral. The top has a slightly wider chord than the lower, the leading edges of all wings are covered with plywood and the wire tailing edge gives the so-called scalloped effect. The fuselage is also made out of wood with numerous metal fittings. The four longerons are tightened by wires with top and bottom rounded deckings. The langing gear legs are made of laminated poplar with the usual bungee cord system. The engine coolant flows through the front radiator, with manually operated shutters to adjust the water temperature. The main fuel tank is located at the bottom of the fuselage and has an emergency release system. Two auxillary tanks are located in the top wing centre section, immediately behind the water tank. The oil tank sits in the cockpit next to the pilot's seat.

The propeller was either designed by GALLIA or Marcel Bloch, later to become known as Marcel Dassault.

The first flight was performed by French Ace René DORME on April 4th 1917 and from the beginning it was clear the aeroplane would be a success. The total production amounted to more than 8000 and 81 French escadrille and Allied Squadrons flew the type before the end of WWI.

Ancre 1

The Spad XIII # 4377

This aircraft was built in February 1918 by the Kellner company based at Levallois near Paris. It is one of the few survivors of the 8000 units built.

The well worn aircraft was recovered from an attic by Jean Salis in the 1970s. Restoration work started slowly in 1988 and gained pace when the aircraft was donated to the Memorial Flight Association in 1990. The restoration took 4 years. Both the fuselage and the engine are original, but the wings had to be mostly rebuilt to original specifications. Everything was restored or made, checked and reassembled using original techniques and material. For example, the aircraft is covered with linen fabric and the official 1918 camouflage pattern was used to provide an accurate paint scheme. Only metal parts are painted as well ad the roundels and rudder. Other fabric covered parts are tainted with pigmented dope as per the original. It flies with a new-built propeller copied from an original Eclair propeller that belongs to the Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace.

The first post restoration flight (and the first flight in 73 years) took place on the 3rd of May 1991. The aeroplane wore the colours of Charles Henri Dolan, last survivor of the Escadrille La Fayette.

dolan1.jpg
dolan2.jpg
dolan3.jpg

Charles Henri 'Carl" Dolan - last survivor of the N 124 Escadrille passed away in 1982

10 years after her first reborn, the SPAD XIII returned in our workshop for a complete overhaul (engine, airframe, new fabric and radiator) and an upgrade to a higher standard of restoration.

She's now wearing the colours of brigadier Trémeau, SPA 83 "Dragon" Escadrille, January 1918.

This airplane is the oldest SPAD XIII airframe known and the only original in flying condition.

spad.jpg
trem.jpg

Some history: Escadrille Lafayette

"The American Squadron N124" was officially formed on 18 April 1916 on Luxeuil aerodrome, two years after the idea of an American volunteers squadron was contemplated. It started with 6 Nieuport 11s under the command of Captain Thenault and Lt Alfred de Laarge de Meux as second in command. Pilots were W. Thain, E. Cowdin, K Rockwell, N. Prince, C. Johnson, B. Hall, C. Baisley, V. Chapman, L. Rumsey and J. McConnell.

The first war sortie took place on May 13th and was uneventful. N124's score started with K. Rockwell when he downed an LVG two-seater near Mulhouse in the morning of May 18th 1916. When he learned of his brother's feat Paul Rockwell sent a bottle of aged Kentucky Bourbon whiskey to the squadron. The pilots then decided that the only person allowed to take a sip in the future would be a pilot after a victory. Later, Raoul Lufbery took almost half the bottle! A big dogfight took place on May 24th without loss although Thaw was injured after an emergency landing within allied territory. On this day Lufbery, a quiet and modest American, born in France, reported to the unit. Lufbery had been the mechanic for M. Pourpe prewar and he had been shot down and killed in 1914. To avenge his memory, Lufbery enlisted and became a pilot.

The first loss was Victor Chapman, a very brave man, who was shot down and killed on June 23rd in an uneven fight against five Fokkers that he had attacked to get revenge for his friend Balsley, shot down and seriously wounded on 19th. It is during this time that Charles Nungesser paid a friendly visit to the Lafayette and added one victory to his score. On July 31st, Lufbery scored on victory over a German, three more followed making him an ace.

N124 'Lafayette' had then shown the world what they were worth with 146 fights and 13 official victories for the loss of one man. Taking advantage of leave in Paris, they managed to acquire a baby lion before returning to Luxeuil. They named it Whiskey and it became a playmate for Captain Thenault's German Shepherd dog Fram.

The unit was then issued with the new Nieuport 17 equipped with a synchronised machine gun and 110hp engines but soon after, on September 23rd, K Rockwell was lost and on October 12th N. Prince was seriously wounded while on an escort mission. On October 2nd and 3rd, the new SPAD VII began to arrive and for a while these were used alongside the Nieuports. During the winter, one of the mechanics, Suchet, painted a Seminole head that was soon to become the unit emblem and Harold Willis joined the unit in February 1917 and redesigned the emblem as a Sioux head, giving it its final touches. For diplomatic and political reasons, the name was briefly changed by the French government and instead of Escadrille Américaine, it became Escadrille des Volontaires, fortunately the name was changed soon after to become Escadrille Lafayette as of December 6th 1916.

whishy.jpg
Willis.jpg

La Fayette, Sioux, SPADs, and a group of brave and fiery pilots were enough to forge a new legend...

Lufbery shot down another enemy aircraft on December 27th but had to wait until January 24th to paint another red bar as a sign of victory on his machine. He was among the first, if not the first, to start a custom that was to become the norm in future. On January 26th 1917, pilots and mechanics moved to St-Just-en-Chaussée in time for a tactical move. On March 16th 1917, Thaw had to travel to Paris and fly back with a new SPAD. He also took time to find a girlfriend for Whisky, a young lioness called Soda. By the end of May the Lafayette moved to Ham, a city closer to the lines. They soon learned of the declaration of war by the United States of America on April 6th. Nevertheless a sad period was to plague the unit when Genet and Hoskier were shot down and Lt de Laake de Meux was killed in a take off accident. A. C. Campbell joined the unit only to be involved in an extraordinary accident. He lost the left lower wing of his Nieuport while doing some aerobatics but managed to bring his aeroplane safely to the ground without any other damage !

Soon, seven new pilots joined, among them Charles (Carl) Henry Dolan who turned out to be a good pilot and a good electrician.

On January 1st 1918, the Lafayette officially became the 103rd Aero Squadron, and the first fighter squadron of the infant American Air Force with Thaw as Commanding Officer while Lufbery was appointed Commanding Officer of another group. He was later to perish when he jumped from a blazing aeroplane near Toul. SPA 12 kept going with new French pilots as of February and took the name SPA 124 Jeanne d'Arc and disbanded after the armistice in November 1918.

The Lafayette was credited with 199 official victories with 17 being credited to Lufbery.

tableau.jpg
Ancre 2

Evolution of the Lafayette emblem during WWI

Original seminole head painted on Raoul Lufbery's aircraft preserved at the French Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace.

Late 1916, early 1917.

sioux1.jpg
Ancre 3

Original Sioux head painted on Henry Jones' Spad XIII preserved at the U.S.A.F.Museum.

The best known emblem, worn from 1917.

sioux2.jpg

The overhaul (2001 - 2003)

The first restoration (1988 - 1991)

Photoscopes

Photoscope

220 hp Hispano-Suiza engine and accessories.

Photoscope

Radiator.

SPAD XIII C.1

Restauration volante

La Société SPAD (Société Pour les Avions Déperdussin) connut un grand succès avant guerre grâce aux monoplans dessinés par Louis Béchereau.

 

A la suite de difficultés financières, la société dut fermer ses portes mais fut reprise par Louis Blériot en 1914, créant ainsi la nouvelle Société pour l'Aviation et ses Dérivés ce qui permit de conserver le sigle SPAD. Louis Béchereau, resté chef du bureau d'études, travailla sur de nombreux appareils aboutissant à la création du SPAD XIII.

 

La configuration générale du SPAD XIII ne présentait guère de nouveautés spectaculaires en comparaison des appareils du type Fokker D.VII. La maîtrise technique de la construction bois lui conféra sa robustesse proverbiale au prix d'une masse à vide plutôt lourde. L'aérodynamique plutôt réussie se caractérisait par un bon profil d'ensemble, la section arrondie du fuselage et le dessin du nez (avec son radiateur frontal de forme quasi circulaire), le tout lié au grand allongement de la voilure. L'ensemble associé au très capricieux moteur Hispano-Suiza de 220 hp conférait à cet appareil des qualités de grimpeur très supérieures à celles de ses homologues anglais et allemands même si cette supériorité se payait d'un certain manque de maniabilité.

 

Le SPAD ne fut pas en effet un avion « facile », surtout à basse vitesse avec un décrochage très brutal du à l'épaisseur réduite du profil d'aile. Mais, sa robustesse extraordinaire lui permettait en toute sécurité des piqués accentués et prolongés à plus de 450 km/h suivis de ressources brutales, ce qui autorisait des manœuvres dans le plan vertical généralement interdites aux autres chasseurs jusqu'à l'apparition du célèbre Fokker D.VII. Il possédait en outre l'avantage de constituer un plate-forme de tir très stable et de bien encaisser les rafales adverses.

La voilure était constituée de deux ailes à structure bilongeron. L'aile supérieure, monobloc, présentait une envergure et une corde légèrement plus grandes que l'aile inférieure construite en deux sections. Les bords d'attaque étaient recouverts de contre-plaqué et les bords de fuite formés de corde à piano. Les ailes ne présentaient pas de dièdre. La structure du fuselage, elle aussi, était en bois avec de nombreux renforts métalliques en particulier sur les couples principaux. Elle consistait en quatre longerons réunis par des structures transverses, le tout renforcé de croisillons en corde à piano (fil d'acier). Le dos et le ventre avaient une forme arrondie. Le train d'atterrissage se composait de jambes principales monoblocs en peuplier contre collé; les amortisseurs étaient d'un système classique pour l'époque en tresses de cordes élastiques (Sandows). Le liquide de refroidissement passait dans un radiateur circulaire muni de volets de réglage de température. Le réservoir principal de carburant, installé dans la partie inférieure de l'appareil, était muni d'un système de vidange rapide par arrachage d'une plaque étamée. Deux nourrices d'essence étaient situées dans la partie centrale de l'aile supérieure, juste derrière la nourrice d'eau. Le réservoir d'huile se trouve sur le plancher à la droite du siège pilote.

L'hélice portait la signature de Gallia ou bien d'un certain Marcel Bloch dont c'était l'aube de la carrière aéronautique et plus connu sous le nom de Marcel Dassault.

Les qualités techniques et opérationnelles du SPAD s'étaient confirmées dès les premiers vols du prototype le 4 avril 1917, piloté par R. Dorme. Il fut en dotation dans 81 escadrilles françaises ainsi que dans de nombreuses formations étrangères.

 

Le SPAD XIII n°4377

Construit en février 1918 par la société Kellner de Levallois, cet avion est l'un des derniers survivants des quelques 8000 exemplaires construits.

Récupéré à l'état d'épave par Jean Salis dans les années 70, sa restauration débuta en 1988 et il fut cédé à l'association en 1990. Il a été restauré en quatre années. Le fuselage et le moteur sont d'origine mais un important travail de reconstruction à l'identique a été nécessaire pour la voilure. Tout a été refait, contrôlé et remonté avec le souci de respecter scrupuleusement les normes d'époque, y compris l'entoilage en lin et le schéma officiel de camouflage de l'aéronautique militaire de 1918. Seules les parties métalliques, les cocardes inférieures et le drapeau sont peints, le reste étant recouvert d'enduit pigmenté conforme à l'original. Il est équipé d'une reproduction d'hélice Eclair réalisée grâce à une hélice originale appartenant au Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace.

Il a repris l'air pour la première fois depuis 73 ans le 3 mai 1991, portant les couleurs de Charles Henri Dolan, dernier survivant de l'escadrille La Fayette.

dolan1.jpg
dolan2.jpg
dolan3.jpg

Charles Henri 'Carl" Dolan - Dernier pilote survivant de la N 124 disparu en 1982

10 ans après sa renaissance, le SPAD XIII est revenu dans notre atelier pour une grande visite (révision moteur, structure, nouveau radiateur, ré-entoilage) et une remise à un standard de restauration plus élevé.

Il est maintenant aux couleurs du brigadier Henri Trémeau, SPA 83 "Les dragons", Janvier 1918.

C'est le seul SPAD XIII original en état de vol dans le monde et le plus ancien connu à ce jour.

spad.jpg
trem.jpg

Un peu d'histoire : L'Escadrille La Fayette

« L'Escadrille Américaine N 124 » fut officiellement constituée le 18 avril 1916 à Luxeuil, 2 années après avoir lancé l'idée de former une escadrille de volontaires américains. Elle fut dotée de 6 Nieuport 11 et était commandée par le capitaine Thénault, secondé par le lieutenant Alfred de Laage de Meux; les pilotes étaient W. Thaw, E. Cowdin, K. Rockwell, N. Prince, C. Johnson, B. Hall, C. Balsley, V. Chapman, L. Rumsey et J. McConnell.

La première mission de guerre se déroula le 13 mai sans incident notable. Le tableau de chasse de la N 124 fut inauguré par K. Rockwell lorsqu'il abattit un biplace LVG à proximité de Mulhouse dans la matinée du 18 mai 1916 (informé de la nouvelle, son frère Paul envoya à l'escadrille une bouteille de vieux bourbon du Kentucky. Les pilotes décidèrent que seuls ceux qui obtiendraient une victoire auraient le privilège d'en déguster un petit verre... Un certain Raoul Lufbery en sirotera près de la moitié !). Le 24 vit une grande mêlée dont l'escadrille sortit victorieuse et sans pertes, seul Thaw fut blessé mais se posa en catastrophe dans les lignes; c'est ce jour que Lufbery, calme et modeste Américain né en France, se présenta à l'escadrille. Il était devenu pilote pour venger Marc Pourpe, tué début décembre 1914, dont il avait été le mécanicien attitré avant guerre.

La première perte de l'unité fut Victor Chapman, pilote fougueux et combatif descendu le 23 juin lors d'un combat qu'il livra sans hésitation contre cinq Fokker afin de venger son ami Balsley abattu et grièvement blessé le 19. C'est à cette époque que l'as Charles Nungesser fit un séjour amical à la N 124 et y remporta une victoire. Le 31 juillet, Lufbery ouvrit la marque en abattant un Allemand; trois autres victoires s'y ajoutèrent dans les jours suivants montrant qu'il avait l'étoffe d'un as.

L'escadrille avait révélé sa valeur au monde entier en 146 combats sanctionnés par 13 victoires officielles pour la perte d'un pilote. Avant le retour à Luxeuil, les pilotes profitèrent d'une permission à Paris pour acquérir un lionceau-mascotte qu'ils baptisèrent Whisky et qui devint le compagnon de Fram le berger allemand du capitaine Thénault.

Des Nieuport 17 avec mitrailleuses de capot et moteur de 110cv furent alors versés à l'escadrille. L'unité fut à nouveau endeuillée lorsque K. Rockwell fut abattu le 23 septembre et que N. Prince fut accidenté à l'issue d'une mission d'escorte le 12 octobre. Le 23 octobre 1916, l'unité perçut ses premiers Spad VII, le meilleur chasseur de l'époque, en complément de ses Nieuport 17. Durant l'hiver 1916 la tête de Sioux, dessinée par le mécanicien Suchet, fut adoptée par Thénault en tant qu'emblème de l'escadrille. Harold Willis, qui rejoignit l'escadrille fin février 1917, «peaufina» le dessin et lui donna sa touche finale. Début novembre, pour des raisons diplomatiques, le Ministère de la Guerre décréta que la N 124 ne s'appellerait plus « Escadrille Américaine » mais « Escadrille des Volontaires ». La mesure fut très temporaire car, à la satisfaction générale, une note du même ministère lui décerna le titre d'Escadrille La Fayette en date du 6 décembre 1916.

whishy.jpg
Willis.jpg

La Fayette, le Sioux, les Spad et une escouade de fougueux pilotes qui avait fait ses preuves au combat : tous les éléments étaient réunis pour forger une légende...

Lufbery descendit un chasseur ennemi le 27 décembre et dut attendre le 24 janvier avant de peindre un nouveau trait rouge, marque de victoire, sur son appareil et fut ainsi l'un des premiers, sinon le premier, des chasseurs à inaugurer cette coutume qui ferait de nombreux émules. Le 26 janvier 1917, pilotes et mécaniciens firent mouvement vers Saint-Just-en-Chaussée en vue d'une nouvelle offensive de grande envergure. Thaw se rendit à Paris afin de réceptionner un Spad neuf le 16 mars 1917 et en profita pour trouver une compagne à Whisky : une jeune lionne qui fut baptisée Soda. Fin mai, l'escadrille La Fayette gagna le terrain de Ham, plus proche des lignes. C'est là que les pilotes apprirent l'entrée en guerre des Etats-Unis le 6 avril. Cependant une période sombre guettait le La Fayette : Genêt et Hoskier furent descendus tandis que de Laage de Meux se tua, suite à une panne de moteur au décollage. A.C. Campbell fut repris aux effectifs de l'escadrille en juillet 1917 et subit bientôt un accident peu banal : la demi-aile inférieure gauche de son Nieuport se détacha lors d'exercices acrobatiques mais il accomplit la prouesse de le ramener au sol sans autres dégâts !

A cette époque, 7 nouvelles recrues américaines vinrent grossir les rangs. Parmi eux, Charles (Carl) Dolan qui se révéla aussi bon pilote qu'électricien.

Le 1er janvier 1918, l'Escadrille La Fayette devint officiellement le 103rd Aero- Squadron, la première escadrille de chasse de la toute jeune aviation américaine: Thaw en fut nommé commandant tandis que Lufbery se vit confier le commandement d'un autre groupe (il périt quelques mois plus tard à proximité de Toul en sautant de son avion en flammes). Des pilotes français comblèrent les vides laissés par le départ des pilotes américains dans la SPA 124 en février; rebaptisée SPA 124 Jeanne d'Arc. Elle fut dissoute peu après l'armistice du 11 novembre 1918.

L'escadrille La Fayette fut créditée de 199 victoires officielles dont 57 homologuées parmi lesquelles 17 au crédit de Raoul Lufbery.

tableau.jpg
 

Evolution de l'insigne du Lafayette au cours de la première guerre mondiale

Tête de séminole originale peinte sur l'avion de Raoul Lufbery conservée au Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace.

Insigne porté fin 1916, début 1917.

sioux1.jpg
 

Tête de sioux originale peinte sur le Spad XIII d'Henry Jones conservée à l'U.S.A.F. Museum.

Insigne le plus connu qui succéda à la tête de séminole.

sioux2.jpg

La grande visite (2001 - 2003)

La première restauration (1988 - 1991)

Photoscopes

Photoscope

Moteur Hispano-Suiza 220 hp et ses accessoires.

Photoscope

Radiateur d'eau.

Photoscope

Compartiment équipement / Lance-bombe.

Photoscope

Bâti moteur.

Photoscope

Réservoir d'essence