top of page

Heinkel 162

Static Restoration (to be displayed in the Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace)

Although an " utopia " of the third Reich, the Volksjäger was in fact a unique and extraordinary airplane:

  • First single engine jet fighter,

  • First single engine jet fighter equiped with an ejection seat,

  • One of the few tricycle gear fighter,

  • The only one built in such a short period of time (3 months) from the drawing board to the prototype.

 

Nearly 200 were supplied by three assembly factories:

  • Heinkel- Rostock in Maienehe as early as January 45, bearing the werk nummer 120 000 to 120, airplanes of the A-2 version with 20mm guns.

  • Heinkel-Hinterbrühl, end of January 45, 220 000 serie for the pre production planes.

  • Junkers-Bernburg, end of February 45, 310 000 serie for nearly 30 airplanes of the A.1 version, armed with 30 mm guns.

  • A fourth plant (the sinister mittelwerke near the Dora concentration camp) was supposed to produce airplanes of 300 000 serie, but production switched to V1 and V2 retaliation weapons.

 

Powered by a BMW 003E-1 jet engine (800 kg thrust), the fuselage is metalic while wing, rudders, ailerons, flaps, fuselage doors, and the nose are made of wood. All this woodwork was performed by numerous small workshops spread around the assembly plants. The jet engine is positioned above the fuselage and blows between the two rudders. The fuel tanks are located in the fuselage and in the wing, the latest built as integral fuel tank, by resin impregnation of the wood structure. In case of emergency, an ejection seat was supposed to send the pilot clear of the jet intake.

 

A sole Group became operational, equiped with about 30 He 162, the I./JG1 was based in Leck near the Danish border during the closing days of the war, from April 16 to May 8 1945.

 

The airplanes belonging to the Group were involved in some fights such as the loss of Feldwebel Kirchner flying "yellow 2". Another loss happened on April 26 1945, Unteroffizier Rechenbach was shot down above Keck during a fight against a Spitfire. Moreover, a victory claim was made by 2nd Lt Guy F. Cary of the 15th Tactical Reconnaissance Squadron, 10th PRG 9th Airforce on a He 162, 3 km north east of Bernberg, probably an airplane on a ferry or a test flight, from the Jünkers factory. A probable victory by an He 162 (never clearely confirmed) on a Typhoon or Tempest by Lt. Rudolf Schmitt above Rostock flying the "white 1".

Ancre 1

The Heinkel 162 n°120015

The Memorial Flight Association has been asked to restore the He 162 nr 120015 on behalf of the Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace. This airplane being one of the last survivors and one the few almost complete.

 

When the British Forces occupied Leck on May 15 1945, they found 27 He 162 on the airfield. Five were turned over to the French in Feb 1946 ; two A-1 version wnr. 310012 "red 7 " and wnr. 310003 "yellow 5" ; three A-2 version, wnr. 120093 "white 2" , wnr. 120223 "yellow 1" and wnr. 120015. We now know that there wer at least seven aircrafts in France (two more than the official list).

 

The A-2's were flown with french markings from April 1947 to July 1948. Wnr. 120015 was painted in a single colour of grey/beige and bore the nr. 2. It was flown for most of the tests totalling nearly 14 hours on a total amount of 18 hours of flight tests ; each flight lasting approximately 20 to 30 mn ; this enabled about 30 French Air Force pilots to get a glimpse of jet flying, pending the arrival of British Vampires in 1949.

 

Grounded after the death of Capt. Schienger on the nr 1, the 120015 was sent to the Rochefort-Sur-Mer Air Force mechanics school. It was then repainted "bordeaux-red" and set to the Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace in 1952 ; its colour changed again to dark green until 1975 when it was given an approximate camouflage paint posing as wnr. 120223.

The Restoration

Restoration Details

Video: Landing gear test

After 60 years, the landing gear is alive again.

Photoscope

The FUG24 radio and the FUG25a IFF (cockpit).

Heinkel 162

Restauration Statique (en attente d'exposition au Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace)

Le Chasseur du Peuple (Volksjäger) fut une utopie du III° Reich, mais finalement un avion extraordinaire, unique en son genre :

  • premier avion de chasse mono réacteur

  • premier avion de chasse monoplace mono réacteur à siège éjectable

  • un des rares avions de chasse à train tricycle

  • le seul construit en si peu de temps (3 mois) de la planche à dessins au prototype.

 

Près de 200 exemplaires furent construits par trois usines d'assemblages :

  • Heinkel-Rostock à Marienehe dès la mi-janvier 45, avec les numéros constructeur (wnr.) de la série 120000 pour 120 avions de la version A-2 à canons de 20mm.

  • Heinkel-Hinterbrühl fin janvier 45 avec la série 220000 pour les prototypes et la pré-série.

  • Junkers-Bernburg fin février 45 avec la série 310000 pour près de 30 appareils de la version A-1 à canons de 30mm.

  • Une quatrième usine (la sinistre Mittelweke près du camp de Dora) devait produire la tranche 300000 mais elle ne fut jamais opérationnelle, priorité étant donnée aux V1 et V2.

 

Propulsé par un réacteur BMW 003E-1 de 800 kgp, le fuselage est entièrement métallique pour une longueur de 9,05m , les ailes d'une envergure de 7,20m sont en bois ainsi que les gouvernails, les dérives, les trappes de fuselage et le cône de nez. Ces parties en bois étaient réalisées par une multitude de petits ateliers de menuiserie disséminés autour des usines d'assemblages. Le réacteur, situé au-dessus du pilote, souffle entre les 2 dérives et le carburant est versé directement dans les ailes de bois imprégnées spécialement. En cas d'urgence, un siège d'éjection rudimentaire permettait au pilote d'éviter l'entrée d'air du moteur.

 

Un seul groupe fut opérationnel avec une trentaine de He162, le I./JG1 basée à Leck près la frontière Danoise pendant les derniers jours de la guerre du 16 avril au 8 mai 1945.

Ces avions connurent quelques combats aériens; comme le 19 avril avec la perte du Feldwebel Kirchner sur le '2 jaune'. L'autre perte date du 26 avril 1945 avec le Unteroffizier Rechenbach au dessus de Leck durant un combat contre un Spitfire. De même le 2nd Lieutenant Guy F.Cary du 15th Tactical Reconnaissance Squadron, 10th PRG de la US 9th Air Force revendiqua une victoire sur He 162 à 3 km au NE de Bernburg, sûrement un Heinkel de convoyage ou d'essais des usines Junkers. Une autre victoire non confirmée le 4 mai contre un Typhoon ou un Tempest par le Leutnant Rudolf Schmitt au dessus de Rostock sur le '1 blanc'.

 

Le He 162 n° 120015

Memorial-Flight a entrepris en juin 2005 la restauration du He 162 n° 120015 pour le compte du Musée de l'Air et de l'Espace. Cet avion est l'un des derniers survivants du premier chasseur monoreacteur et un des rares quasiment complet.

 

A l'arrivée des Britanniques à Leck le 15 mai 1945, 27 He 162 se trouvaient sur ce terrain. Cinq de ces avions furent attribués aux Français en février 1946, deux de type A-1 (le wnr.310012 '7 rouge' et le wnr.310003 '5 jaune') et trois de type A-2 (le wnr.120093 '2 blanc', le wnr.120223 '1 jaune' et le wnr.120015). On sait aujourd'hui que la France a eu au moins sept appareils de ce type (donc deux de plus que la liste officielle).

 

Seuls les trois de type A-2 volèrent sous les couleurs françaises d'avril 1947 à juillet 1948. Le 120015 reçut le numéro français 2 et une peinture uniforme gris-beige. Il fit la majorité des vols soit près de 14 heures sur un total de 18 heures, chaque vol durant entre 20 à 30 mm. Cela permit à une trentaine de pilotes de l'Armée de l'Air de se familiariser au vol sur réacteur en attendant l'arrivée des premiers Vampire en 1949.

 

Arrêtés de vol en juillet 48 après l'accident fatal du Capitaine Schlienger sur le n°01, le 120015 est donné à l'école des mécaniciens de Rochefort-sur-Mer en janvier 1949 ou il reçu une nouvelle peinture rouge-bordeaux. Transféré au Musée de l'Air à Meudon en août 1952, il fut peint au début des années soixante en vert-noir pour finalement être repeint en 1975 dans des couleurs approximatives en tant que wnr.120223.

La restauration

Détails de la restauration

Vidéo : Essai de train

Pour la première fois depuis 60 ans, video d'une séquence de train complète.

Photoscope

La radio FUG-24 et l'IFF FUG25a (cockpit).

Photoscope

La radio FUG24 et l'IFF (soute arrière).

Photoscope

Le cockpit.

Photoscope

La verrière.

Photoscope

Le puit de train avant.